Swedish inspiration Discover the treasures of Sweden - no matter if you are in Sweden or in Hong Kong

2020 Guldbagge winners

Last night, the Golden Bug Gala (Guldbaggegalan) for the 2020 films was held at the Annex in Stockholm. “Spring Uje Spring” was named Best Film, and also won the award for Best Male Lead and Best Screenplay (both Uje Brandelius). Charter was also awarded the Golden Bug three times, for Best Director (Amanda Kernell), Best Actress (Ane Dahl Torp) and Best Photo (Sophia Olsson). Greta, directed by Nathan Grossman, was named Best Documentary.

During the gala, which was led by Amie Bramme Sey and David Sundin and broadcast live on SVT, the following prizes were awarded:

Best film

Spring Uje spring
Producers: Anna-Klara Carlsten and Tomas Michaelsson

Best director

Amanda Kernell
for Charter

Best female lead

Ane Dahl Torp
for the role of Alice in Charter

Best Male Lead

Uje Brandelius
for the role of Uje iSpring Uje spring

Best Supporting Actress

Lena Endre
for the role of Eva in My Dad Marianne

Best Supporting Actor

Ahmad Fadel
for the role of Farid in Ghabe

Best script

Uje Brandelius
for the script for Spring Uje spring

Best cut

Fredrik Morheden
for the cutting of Breaking Surface

Best photo

Sophia Olsson
for the photo in Charter

Best sound / sound design

Fredrik Lantz
for the sound on the other side

Best original music

Ola Kvernberg
for the music iOnly the Devil Lives Without Hope

Best visual effects

Jelmen Palsterman and Tony Kock
for the effects iBreaking Surface

Best costume

Kicki Ilander
for the costumes in Nelly Rapp – Monsteragent

Best scenography

Linda Janson and Charlotte Alfredson
for scenography iSe upp för Jönssonligan

Best mask / makeup

Hanna Holm Löfgren, Eva von Bahr and Love Larson
for mask / makeup iNelly Rapp – Monsteragent

Best short film

A Legacy of Horses
Directed by: Annika Karlsson and Jessica Karlsson

Best Documentary

Directed by Nathan Grossman

Best foreign film

To my daughter
Directed by: Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts



Jon Nohrstedt, producer

Motivation: Gullspira in 2020 is awarded to producer Jon Nohrstedt, whose work is permeated by quality, forward movement and a passionate interest in children’s and young people’s films as their own art form.

Honorary Guldbagge

Sten Ljunggren, actor

Motivation: This year’s laureates have for almost fifty years made a number of fine role interpretations, on both film, television and stage. He has often played vulnerable and complicated men, over whom he never moralizes. He has become popular by speaking directly to Swedish hearts, and gives the audience a sense of security. He finds it difficult to look so simple – a hallmark of every brilliant actor. This year’s recipient of the Honorary Gold Bug is Sten Ljunggren.